Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,536   Posts: 1,544,158   Online: 897

Shooter
    Multi Format

Koni Omega Rapid 100 rangefinder adjustment

Hi all. I recently acquired a Koni Omega Rapid 100 camera together with the 90/3.5 Super Omegon lens. Everything seems to be fine except for the rangefinder. The RF patch is contrasty & clear but it appears to be off, i.e when I focus on something via the RF patch, then check the distance scale, it tells me that the target is 8 feet away when in actuality it's more like 10 feet away!

What can I do to rectify this problem? Is there an easy step-by-step walkthrough of what one needs to do to check & then realign the rangefinder? I haven't been able to find a downloadable repair manual. I'm not good with my hands though, all thumbs...but would try anything reasonably easy.

Could it just be that my focusing knob is misaligned somehow?

I haven't run a roll through the camera yet to check the focusing thoroughly and I haven't a ground glass or tracing paper handy.

I'm in Malaysia, so sending the camera to Greg Weber is hardly an option.

Would appreciate all feedback, thank you in advance.

-Dani

Shooter
    Large Format
    Images
    Instructions here.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    I would check first to see whether the RF is actually correct - the focusing scale on the focusing knob is only relevant for scale focusing and the use of manual flashes.

In addition, I would check that the focusing scale on the knob is the right one.
    Matt

“Photography is a complex and fluid medium, and its many factors are not applied in simple sequence. Rather, the process may be likened to the art of the juggler in keeping many balls in the air at one time!”

Ansel Adams, from the introduction to The Negative - The New Ansel Adams Photography Series / Book 2

Shooter
    Medium Format