Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 71,813   Posts: 1,581,581   Online: 927

Shooter
    Multi Format

Fuji gw690 users question about shutter leaves

Hi, if there are any gw690 users here, I recently purchased one used (gw690ii), but I was worried about something I noticed on the inner and outer leaf shutter blades. There is one blade bent at the tip outward toward the lens element both at the front and the rear. Is this normal?

The seller said his friends looks just the same way, and the explanation is very logical (designed to prevent binding of the larger blades and guide movement).

I have no personal experience owning or working with large shutters and all my smaller cameras don't have leaves as such.

Any owners of the fuji gw690 or gsw690 please take a look, it would make me feel relived as I spent a fair amount of money on one (part time teacher, and freelance work has been slow). But overall i like this comically sized camera, and would like to put a roll through after this whole bent shutter business is figured out.

Thanks in advance.

Shooter
    35mm
    Images
    This is normal, don't worry.

Shooter
    35mm
    Blog Entries
    Images
    Yup, that's normal. Don't worry about it. The shutter on the GW690s is very reliable. Have it serviced every 5000 actuations and the shutter will last for ages.

By the way, you can operate the shutter without film in the camera if you open the back.
    And the sign said, "long haired freaky people need not apply"

Shooter
    Multi Format
    This is done in order for the shutter NOT to foul up. The bent leaf will be the first in and the rest will follow.
    As the others have said, perfectly normal.

Shooter
    Multi Format