Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 71,472   Posts: 1,570,962   Online: 783

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: New Contax 645!

Shooter
    Multi Format

New Contax 645!

I LOVE the 80mm f/2, but damn this is a tricky and sometimes frustrating camera to use! It's got some of the weirdest field curvature i've ever seen, and the backs don't do to well to keep 120 flat.

It's an intriguing departure form the Mamiya 645AF, the Contax is better in some respects, the Mamiya in others. If this was still the 1990's and I was a professional, I'd use the Contax for weddings and outdoor portraiture that would be generally shot wide open, and use the Mamiya for everything else. The Mamiya 80mm f/2.8AF I believe is technically a better lens, but the Contax/Zeiss 80mm has some of the most interesting and unique rendering i've ever seen.

Has anyone else had similar experiences? Here are some recent scans of a mix between Ektar 100 and 400H off the Contax, enjoy!

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Images
    Great shots. I really like the bikes. Wonderful bokeh!
    You should try the 120/4. It is regarded as one of the best medium format lenses ever.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Wonderful pictures. Hop you enjoy your camera more!

Jeff

Shooter
    Large Format
    Blog Entries
    Images
    If you're worried about film flatness, Contax did make a vacuum back for the camera a la the RTS III. They were quite pricey when new, so I think they're somewhat of a rarity. They may also only work with 220 but I don't recall.

Shooter
    35mm
    Images