Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,302   Posts: 1,536,239   Online: 727

Thread: pan f

Shooter
    Multi Format

pan f

hi everybody

i just shot a roll of pan f, i know its a 50 speed, but i didn't change the speed it was set at 125 asa.

just wondering if anybody has pulled this before. is it scrap or can i save it . i'm still new to this so i don't

know anything about the push/pull thing.i'm using blazinal dev 6 min @20c . what do i do with this now

dev longer or shorter. any advice would be great.

thanks al.b

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Images
    You will need to push rather than pull the processing. An extra 25% of processing time compared with what you would normally use should be enough. So if the 6 minutes is for PAN F at ISO 50, 7.5 to 8 should be plenty.

Steve.
    "People who say things won't work are a dime a dozen. People who figure out how to make things work are worth a fortune" - Dave Rat.

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Blog Entries
    Images
    Never actually tried pushing PANF, but I'll just throw in some food for thought. You might know this film is a bit critical with low densities (shadow detail) even at rated speed. Depending on the subjects you photographed and the metering, you might expect possibly heavy shadow blockage. You might maybe consider developing a bit longer, if highlight separation isn't a great concern for the subjects.
    Again, this isn't dictated by experience; i'm just doing some mental engineering, which might not make so much of a sense, in the end. But I hope it helped anyways ;-)

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Pan F is a contrasty film and is best shot at an EI less than 50. I shoot it at EI 32 and develop it in D-23 1+1. That being said, an EI of 125 should be within the film's latitude so I would process it normally and not push it. Often people push film when they don't need to.