Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,557   Posts: 1,545,226   Online: 909

Shooter
    Medium Format

Hasselblad Carl Zeiss Planar 80mm Exposure Values?

Total noob questions

I'm trying to figure how to use my Carl Zeiss Planar 80mm lens with a Gossen Digisix light meter. The lens has the f Stops 2.8 * 4 * 5.6 * 8 * 11 * 16 * 22. The numbers each have a space between them. What f stop would those spaces be??? Also the Digisix has two spaces between the numbers. What if the meter tells me I should be on that second space which my lens doesn't even have? I'm so confused I don't know how phrase the question. I don't have the light meter yet, i just ordered one from Adorama and I guess they're on some kind of a Jewish holiday right now so I won't get it for a while, but I'd like to know how to use it before I get it.

Thanks in advance.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    The spaces on the lens are half stops. I don't have a Digisix in front of me, but the marks on the meter are presumably 1/3 stops. If your meter reads a 1/3 increment, just use the closest 1/2 stop on the lens.

Ian

EDIT: As an example, you could view your lens as having settings for the following f-stops: ... 8 9.5 11...

Your meter then has increments of ... 8 9 10 11...

If your meter then reads f9 or f10, just use f9.5 on your camera (until you get a bit more experienced and confident to play around with the exposure according to the conditions)
    Last edited by Ian David; 10-01-2012 at 07:29 PM. Click to view previous post history.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    EDIT: As an example, you could view your lens as having settings for the following f-stops: ... 8 9.5 11...

Your meter then has increments of ... 8 9 10 11...