Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 68,678   Posts: 1,482,115   Online: 933

Shooter
    35mm
    Images

Projecting 70mm frames?

I've just bought a Hasselblad PCP-80 projector. I've seen some 70mm frames from Star Wars etc. Anybody tried putting one of these in a Gepe mount and projecting them? Be nice to see R2D2 in original 70mm! Are motion picture frames sharp or really only look good at 24fps?

Daniel.

Shooter
    4x5 Format
    Images

Projecting 70mm frames?

I don't even know if 70mm is what they shot in or if those are duplicates of some kind, I work in the industry and all the sets I'm on they always use 35mm...

~Stone

The Important Ones - Mamiya: 7 II, RZ67 Pro II / Canon: 1V, AE-1 / Kodak: No 1 Pocket Autographic, No 1A Pocket Autographic

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
    ~Stone | "...of course, that's just my opinion. I could be wrong." ~Dennis Miller

Escaped Bakersfield, CA. Now in Indianapolis.
    Shooter
    Medium Format
    I wish I was in the industry...

Anyways, I'm pretty sure that Star Wars was shot on 35mm.

And to answer your question, Daniel, Most motion picture frames aren't usually sharp.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Appocalypse Now was shot on 70mm - in the jungle!
    Matt

“Photography is a complex and fluid medium, and its many factors are not applied in simple sequence. Rather, the process may be likened to the art of the juggler in keeping many balls in the air at one time!”

Ansel Adams, from the introduction to The Negative - The New Ansel Adams Photography Series / Book 2

Escaped Bakersfield, CA. Now in Indianapolis.
    Shooter
    Medium Format
    Quote Originally Posted by MattKing View Post
    Appocalypse Now was shot on 70mm - in the jungle!