Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,705   Posts: 1,548,476   Online: 840

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Shooter
    35mm
    Images

Lenses for Mamiya 645 1000S

I recently bought a Mamiya 645 1000S. What is the proper series of Mamiya lenses for this camera? I'm becoming confused! It doesn't use the same lenses as, say, the RB-67, right?

I received an 80 and 45mm with the kit and would like to add a 150 or 210mm. Something longer. Suggestions welcome on a longer lens although I do not have any particular use or subject in mind.

I'm new to the MF world, well except for my Yashica MAT-124 but that's a fixed lens camera. Most of my 35mm gear is Pentax.

-- Jason
    All this has happened before, and all this will happen again.

Shooter
    Large Format
    Mamiya 645 cameras take their own lenses separate from the RB and RZ lines. I used to own an RZ but never a Mamiya 645 so I'm not an expert on them but I think there are more than one 150mm lens available including a leaf shutter lens. I don't know about a 210.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Mamiya 645 uses lenses designed for that body. I had 80, 55, and 150 for Super and Pro. As I understand, N series are the latest one for that body. Availability pretty much stops at 150mm. I haven't seen anything longer come up all that frequently. I think, KEH has them under Mamiya 645 MANUAL section.

150mm is a popular portrait lens for that model. It's pretty cheap, too.
    Develop, stop, fix.... wait.... where's my film?

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Well, I promised .

The Mamiya 645 lenses can be divided into two basic types:

1) The lenses that work only with the auto-focus film bodies; and
    2) The manual focus lenses that work fully featured on all the manual focus bodies, and with reduced metering convenience on the auto-focus film bodies.