Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 68,695   Posts: 1,482,502   Online: 984

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Shooter
    Medium Format

Torn between my Mat 124G and a Kiev88 Prospect.

I absolutely adore my Yashica Mat 124G. Perfect condition, lens sharp as hell, have almost every accessories for it..... but what would i not give for interchangeable backs and a f/ 2.8.

As a student I cant afford both and I was thinking of getting a Kiev88 and give up on my Yashica, but I dont even know how comfortable or well I would adapt to it...
    The Yashica is a pleasure to use, and the images it produces are gorgeous and bokehlicious while razor sharp in the center. The Kiev I have no idea, but it would be nice to have backs for low/high speed B&W and color....

Any ideas or suggestions? What should I expect from the Kiev? does it really matter?

Thanks!
    "The Medium is the Message"

Shooter
    Multi Format
    I've had bad experiences with Kiev shutters... And repairman wouldn't touch it with a ten foot pole.

Regina Canada (sounds more fun than it is)
    Shooter
    Medium Format
    I have shot a Kiev 6C (similar optics) and currently use a 124G - don't give up the Yashica. In my opinion, the Yashica produces a better image, easier to use and much more reliable.
    Once a photographer is convinced that the camera can lie and that, strictly speaking, the vast majority of photographs are "camera lies," inasmuch as they tell only part of a story or tell it in a distorted form, half the battle is won. Once he has conceded that photography is not a "naturalistic" medium of rendition and that striving for "naturalism" in a photograph is futile, he can turn his attention to using a camera to make more effective pictures.

Andreas Feininger

PDH

Shooter
    Multi Format