Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 71,908   Posts: 1,584,654   Online: 848

Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Shooter
    Medium Format

Pick a Camera seniorio

OK guys,

If you were to go on a trip to Europe for two week or any other cool place. And was given a choice on what camera to use. A 35mm, meduim format or a rangefinder. which would it be and why?

ToddB

Shooter
    Large Format
    A Mamiya 7 with 3 lenses.

It's lightweight, portable and has extremely sharp lenses.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    I have limited experience with this sort of thing but here is my 2 cents:

I went to Cuba last year with Leica rangefinders. Once I was there and seeing the interesting features of the place, the architecture from the 1800s, the
    curious little towns, Havana all that.......I realized two things:

I would have preferred to lug a larger format along and have stayed longer than one week.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Although not a huge fan of zooms (yet I own three...go figure), I would grab my F6 with the 17-35mm ED, 50mm 1.2 and the 80-200mm ED. And, in the interest of peace of mind, I would stash a motor-less F2 in the bag. My choices? The wide and telephoto zooms cover an extensive range on both ends; the 50mm prime for the low light situations that are bound to occur. Combined, the above should cover prtty much anything you would wish to shoot. All the above should fit in a camera bag small enough not to be a bother. Oh, and a good supply of E100G/Provia and HP5/Tri-x...
    An assortment of F-series Nikons (F to F6, excluding the F4) with quite a few Nikkors, a pair of M6s with some Leitz glass, a pair of 500c/ms with a wide range of Zeiss optics and, just to help keep Duracell solvent, a D800.