Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 68,697   Posts: 1,482,547   Online: 886

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Shooter
    Medium Format

New to film, Question.

Hello everyone.

I am new to this forum and am looking for some information. I am a Grad from a two year digital photography program and am looking to get back to the roots of photography and shoot more film. I am looking for a 4x5 camera, any suggestions? any information would be appreciated. Thanks

Jeff M

Images
    Good Morning, Jeff,

Check the archived messages in the APUG Forum; there's voluminous information (and lots of opinion!) available here. Also see the largeformatphotography.info web site for a good primer on LF.

Konical

Shooter
    Large Format
    Quote Originally Posted by JeffMFoto View Post
    Hello everyone.

I am new to this forum and am looking for some information. I am a Grad from a two year digital photography program and am looking to get back to the roots of photography and shoot more film. I am looking for a 4x5 camera, any suggestions? any information would be appreciated. Thanks

Jeff M
    Hi Jeff. There are three general ways to go, monorail, field and press camera.

Monorail: With a monorail you have full movements so you can shoot anything with them. They are also the easiest cameras to learn on and are the cheapest due to all pros going digital. The downside to monorails is sometimes weight and always bulk.

Field: Field cameras are lightweight, most fold up, and are great in the field. The downside is price and you don't have all the movements of the monorail.

Press: Press cameras like Speed and Crown Graphics fold out fast and can be hand held. They are cheaper than a field camera but have even less movements.