Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,476   Posts: 1,542,631   Online: 941

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Shooter
    Multi Format

MAMIYA questions

Hello to all. Complete newbie here (in regards to medium format and also on APUG) ready to take the plunge into MF shooting. I apologize in advance since I know this topic has been discussed again but I have specific questions so please bear with me and if possible pls advise accordingly.

After some research I am thinking to invest on a Mamiya 645 Pro kit (with back, prism, lens, grip) since it is both within budget and also seems to have all specs needed which are:

1. Mirror lock-up (big fan of razor sharp landscapes)
    2. Full manual control
    3. Metering (definitely not willing to buy a meter)

To be 100% honest I am not sure if I could even find a different version in the local used market and buying online is not something I would be really comfortable with, but anyway. So, to cut a long story short and in order to avoid becoming boring, the questions:

• The Mamiya 645 pro does indeed have all the 3 specs needed, correct?
    • Are there any other important specs that a MF camera should have that the 645 Pro lacks and I don't know about?
    • Would you consider the 645 Pro a "camera for life" ? (wife will kill me if I say in a couple of years I want another one..)
    • Are there any other cheaper models that would be just as good?
    • Is the grip really necessary/handy/helpful?
    • If you had to choose between a 55mm lens and a 85mm which one would you go for?
    • Any hot tips when inspecting a used one before buying, something to check thoroughly?
    • If it does have metering, what kind does it have (center weighter, spot)?
    • Just to know, does it have aperture and shutter priority?

Many many thanks in advance for all the help!

Shooter
    Multi Format