Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,571   Posts: 1,545,574   Online: 1015

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Shooter
    4x5 Format
    Images

Pentas 67 fine motor challenge

Hello, I have a Pentax 67 that I have been using for a couple of months. I LOVE the camera except for loading and unloading film on the stupid thing. I have other 120 cameras and none give me such a hard time loading the film. I have resorted to using a pair of tweezers to get the spools in place. It is a major PITA. Do you guys know of any tips or tricks that can help overcome my fine motor skills deficit?

Thanks in advance.

Joaquin,.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Blog Entries
    Images
    I was just talking this morning with an astronaut about what a PITA changing out 70mm film (Hasselblad back) was in zero-G in a changing bag.
    He was happy to see film "go away" and digital be a mainstay.
    Nuf said... practice. Although I've only loaded a Pentax 67 a couple times... I used the Swedish stuff.

Shooter
    8x10 Format
    Images
    I have owned my P67 for a lot of years and have put a lot of rolls in and still I often struggle with it. I can't find a trick other than just to try to line up the slot by eye before you put it in. I have used mine for portrait and wedding photography and it can be pretty embarrassing when you just can't get the stupid roll to slip in. Makes you look pretty inept. The camera is worth it though. Love my 55mm lens even more than my 75,90,and 105.
    Dennis

Shooter
    127 Format
    Images
    Seems to help if I advance the film reel to where it is perpendicular to the film plane. Still a bear, but it helps.

Shooter
    35mm

No Leica

I got rid of the two film Leica 35mm cameras I had because they are such a pain in the patoot to load and one is always wondering if the film is actually going through the thing.

Shooter
    Medium Format