Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 71,564   Posts: 1,573,432   Online: 906

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Shooter
    Medium Format

Bronica SQ-AI, Lenses and teleconverters.

After a few weeks of deliberation I'm about ready to order a Bronica SQ-AI from a dealer in the UK.
    I'm primarily into landscapes and abstracts.
    It comes with the waste level finder a speed grip and the standard 80mm lens. I'm thinking that soon after getting it I'll be wanting another couple of lenses and I'm not too flush at the moment so I was wondering about teleconverters. I've never used one before and I know some of them can be nasty but if I got a 2x bronica converter and a Bronica 50mm lens I'd have 50, 80, 100 & 160mm available for quite cheap.
    Are they worth it?

Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Hi JammyB,

The problem with 2x teleconverters is that you lose two stops of aperture, and from my hunting, are not that cheap either (your searches may be different). The difference in cost between say a 150mm or 210mm lens and a teleconverter is much less than the reduction in capability a teleconverter offers. You'll need to buy the 50mm anyway, and I'm not convinced that teleconverters are well matched to 'wide-angle' lenses like the 50mm.

I'd suggest buying the camera, 80mm and when funds allow the 50mm and think about the teleconverter or another lens once you're familiar with the setup. Although if landscape is a priority you may prefer to buy the 50 first if possible.

John.

Shooter
    Large Format
    Images
    The 150mm lens is pretty common, so you should be able to pick one up fairly cheap when funds allow. The teleconverters are not particularly common.

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Images