Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,557   Posts: 1,545,222   Online: 906

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Shooter
    Medium Format

Mamiya RB67 ProSD, darkslide block doesn't block

Hi there, I am new to medium Format and have just bought myself for almost no money a used Mamiya RB67 ProSD. During shooting the first film I forgot to pull out the blind slide one time but I was still able to release the shutter and mirror and to advance the film afterwards. I thought there is a block which prevents this to happen. The back is 6x4.5 ProSD. Is that a problem of the back or of the body (or is it me )?

Shooter
    35mm RF
    The block is only applied if the dark slide is pushed in the final 3mm, you can shoot blank frames if the slide is out 3mm. There are two little triangles to indicate the slide is in the shoot blanks position.

Or there is a fault with the back.

You need to down load the manual. free!

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Thanks for the comment.

I just tried it again. It doesn't make a difference if the triangle is out or the slide ist completely in. The shutter is never blocked. So it is probably a technical problem with the back. I just realised how the pins on the darkslide push in two pieces of metal and make it possible to take off the back or lock it. This bit works, but it doesn't lock the shutter if the slide is pulled out.

Guess I have to try it with other backs to find out if the problem ist with teh back or the rotating part or the body. The postman will bring me a 6x7 back next week. Let's see.

Shooter
    35mm RF
    Sorry...

When you push the dark slide in to conceal the little triangle the tongue that pokes out to block the cameras 'im going to shoot' pin should poke out to physically block the shutter button pin and the shutter button.

But the back needs to be wound on ready to fire as well.