Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 69,738   Posts: 1,515,535   Online: 1064

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    PRB

Shooter
    Medium Format

Talk me out of this change!

Hi All,

Here’s the thing: I have been shooting MF for several years now and love the large negatives and the time in the darkroom with them. Now I have a chance to buy a nice Linhof Technika IV 4x5 kit at a great price, and it comes at a time when I have been thinking of moving a larger format. And I have an enlarger and the lens that will handle the 4x5 negatives.

But I hesitate. My MF negatives and prints seem pretty good in sizes up to 14x16. I have heard all the arguments for moving to 4x5. Why should I stay with MF? Can you talk me out of this move? I am a landscape photographer, and the bulk of a field camera is not a problem for me.

Onward,
    Paul

No matter how slow the film (the) Spirit always stands still long enough for the photographer it has chosen.
    --Minor White

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Why talk you outta this! Add the Technika to your arsenal, another tool for you to choose from. It ain't no switch, it's an addition.
    Go for it and best of luck - but most important... have fun with the new camera.

gene
    gene LaFord

Long live Ed "Big Daddy" Roth!!
    ---------------------------------------------------------------------
    "I don't care about Milwaukee or Chicago." - Yvon LeBlanc

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Images
    If you don't handhold your camera, there is nothing to stop you from using the biggest one you can afford.
    aristotelis grammatikakis
    www.arigram.gr
    Real photographs, created in camera, 100% organic,
    no digital additives and shit

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Why??? hahaha!