Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,907   Posts: 1,555,872   Online: 950

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images

Changing film midroll on Mamiya 330f - possible?

Forgive me is this is a really dumb question but I'm new to this camera and still learning about it's capabilities. I was just thinking about a trip I'm getting ready to go on and I'll betcha ten bucks that there will be situations where I will want to shoot in color (I usually shoot in B&W).

So, is it possible?

Thanks in advance

Shooter
    Large Format
    Images
    Changing film midroll on a medium format camera without interchangeable backs is more trouble than it's worth. You've only got 12 6x6 shots on a roll anyway. If this is something you want to do often, consider a modular camera or a second body.
    flickr--http://www.flickr.com/photos/davidagoldfarb/
    Photography (not as up to date as the flickr site)--http://www.davidagoldfarb.com/photo
    Academic (Slavic and Comparative Literature)--http://www.davidagoldfarb.com

Shooter
    Multi Format
    I shot the mamiya 330 for years, and never found a reasonable way to do what you are thinking about, the only thing I ever did, was when I wanted to change rolls, was run it through the rest of the exposures, then remove and load anothe roll of film in the emulsion that I wanted to shoot, yes, I ended up with a bit of wasted film, but it was a cheap price to pay to get the shots I was able to get. If changing mid-roll is something you want to do regularly, then as David suggested, your best to get a camera with a removable back, which are surprisingly reasonable now a days.

Dave

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    That's what I was kinda thinkin' but it never hurts to ask - it's not uncommon for someone to have thought of something I did not

Thanks for your insight, Dave & David!

Shooter