Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,330   Posts: 1,537,210   Online: 846

Neutral density filters--do I have this right?

I am new to medium format (about 2 years) after being a 35mm shooter. I want to make sure I have this right:

When I want "out of foucs" backgrounds I usually use F4 and I like the effect. It requires high shutter speed if its really bright.

In the same brightness, I am stuck at f22 or f16 due to the 1/500th speed of my Mamiya 7 or 1/400 (I think that's what it is) with my Mamiya RZ.

If I get a neutral density filter of a particular type, it will block some of the light and thus allow me to work with a larger aperature/slower shutter speed combination such that I can get closer to F4.

Is this correct? What do all you medium format shooters use for bright sunshine in the summer (i.e. what type of ND filter).

I ask this because sometimes shooting in the morning or afternoon when there is less light is not possible and I have to shoot in very bright conditions.

Thanks.

Oh, and this is my 100th post. Boy do the first hundred go by quickly.
    --Jeffrey

www.jsteinbergphoto.com (my avocation)
    www.reversis.com (my vocation)

Shooter
    Large Format
    Images
    Quote Originally Posted by Jeffrey A. Steinberg
    ...If I get a neutral density filter of a particular type, it will block some of the light and thus allow me to work with a larger aperature/slower shutter speed combination such that I can get closer to F4.

Is this correct?...
    Jeffrey,