Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 69,958   Posts: 1,523,019   Online: 1249

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Shooter
    Medium Format
    Images

Hasselblad + Fire Extinguisher Chemicals :(

Just something that happened to me today that I thought I'd share...

I was cooking some meatballs tonight, for dinner. After they were in the oven about five minutes I noticed an interesting orange glow comming form inside. Then I thought... crap... my meatballs are burning. So I opened the oven door and sure enough there was a grease/oil fire in the oven. I closed the door, thinking, it wasn't so bad. Then I thought, well, it's a fire, and it's probably going to keep burning and will wreck the oven and maybe the house, so I ran over to get the fire extinguisher (I've never used one before!) and promptly put out the fire.

Unfortunately I had forgot that my Hasselblad kit was on the kitchen counter, about a few feet away from the oven. That, and the fire extinguisher being one of those that really puts out a lot of dusty chemicals, combined with my brother turning on the kitchen fan to get the smoke out left quite a bit of dust (i.e. chemicals!) on my dear Hasselblad.

Fortunately all the dust came off without a problem and caused no damage to anything (except my head; I have a headache now), and no dust got inside the camera or through any crevases/openings in the camera.

Unfortunately the meatballs didn't fare so well... It's truly a difficult time for me... I really love meatballs...

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    What ? And you did take NO picture of the incident while the camera was ready ? :rolleyes:
    We cannot change how the cards are dealt, just how to play the hand...
    Randy Pausch

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Images
    Unfortunatey it didn't occur to me! Some photographer I am...

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images