Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,708   Posts: 1,548,563   Online: 1131

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Shooter
    Multi Format

pentax 67 vs. pentax 645 vs. mayima 645

Hi there.
    I am on the verge of buying a medium format camera. I've been orientating a bit lately and the in the thread title mentioned camera's are the ones I've narowed it down to.
    My budget is not to big - I am a student -. My question. Are the three comparable to eachother? For example the pentax 67 vs. 654? Which of those two should be more expensive? I kinda like the idea of not having a perfect square negative...

one other thing... in smallformat I tend to use quite a lot tele lenses. Is that still possible with medium, or is that unaffordable?

Every input would be great. Thanks in advance
    Greetings SAM

Shooter
    Multi Format
    The Pentax 67 produces bigger negs: 6 x 7 cm as opposed to 6 x 4.5 cm, so the quality is better and grain lower as the negs need less enlargement to produce a print of a given size. On the other hand the camera is bigger and heavier and you use more film per picture. You can get both used, but neither are exactly cheap. You can get long focal length lenses. They too are not cheap, but can be got used. Remember, though that with medium format you need longer lenses to get the same magnification. For example a standard lens for 6 x 7 is already 90mm so a 250mm is only the same as a 135mm on 35mm.

David.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    I've got the Pentax 645. It and the mamiya 645 have the option of adding Soviet P6 lenses with just an adapter. That can cut your lens cost if you are willing to give up auto aperture.