Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,540   Posts: 1,544,338   Online: 973

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Hasselblad Prisms

I have been using a Hasselblad 501CM for a few years with the waist level viewfinder, an have come to the conclusion that I need a prism viewfinder for my landscape work. I looked at Keh.com and it looks like there are many choices available. I'm looking for some insight to help me make a choice.

Is a 90 degree prism more suitable for landscape work than a 45 degree prism? Since I have physical limitations, I would like to keep the weight down. I assume that the non-metered prisms weigh less than metered prisms.

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Images
    I use a PM45 with my 503 and love the angle. It keeps the camera a bit below eye level which I like.

The 90 would have to be at eye level or you would have to bend down (more than 45) to use it.

As far as weight, I do not think the metered prisms weigh more then the non-metered prisms. I could be wrong but I do not think so.

JLP
    Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    I do also use a PM 45 and like it over the waist level finder. Both have a little bit of a disadvantage if you are on the shorter side like i am when shooting people. For landscape the 45 is great with or without a meter.

Jan

Shooter
    Multi Format
    I used a non-metered NC2 prism for many years with my 500CM with excellent results. Last year I bought a PME 5. I have decided the meter is not precise enough for my needs since it is non TTL. It simply reads the light in front of the prism, and that is not what my Pentax 67II TTL does! If I had it to do all over, I would have stuck with my original NC2 prism since I am back using my Pentax spot meter with the Hasselblad. Just a thought.
    darr almeda
    Recent Work

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images