Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 71,568   Posts: 1,573,495   Online: 669

Shooter
    4x5 Format
    Images

What flash for a Pentax 645?

I'm pretty new to the whole medium format thing. I've got a wedding job to do next month. I'd like to use my Pentax for this but I can't seem to find a flash for this rig. I'll keep my 35mm kit on hand as back up.

I need a flash for a lot of things. I was just down in the rainforest in central America and there's not a lot of light under the canopy. Is there a dedicated flash for this camera? What's everyone else using?

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    I think Pentax has a dedicated flashgun for the 645. Check out their website. I myself use a Metz 54MZ-3 zoom flash that, with different adapters, can be used on lots of other cameras. www.metz.de
    Last edited by clogz; 05-17-2006 at 06:13 PM. Click to view previous post history.
    Digital is best taken with a grain of silver.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Pentax has a few flashes on brackets. I have the AF400T, which can run from AA batteries or a power pack. It's pretty adjustable - both in output and head angle.
    I don't know if you have the 645 or the 645N, but the autofocus mechanism on the 645N can be easily fried if you use a flash that puts too much back to the camera. Yup, been there, done that.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    I just use a metz module. 372 I think. It's the manual focus one for the 645. This way I can use any flash that can take Metz modules. I've got a couple Metz 45s and a small collection of Agfa flashes. This way I've got smaller lighter ones and the big one for when I need lots of power. Basically all of my cameras that can take a dedicated flash work with a metz module. Plus if you buy used the stuff is fairly reasonable.

Shooter
    4x5 Format
    Images