Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 71,056   Posts: 1,561,476   Online: 968

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Shooter
    35mm

Making the jump to Medium Format

Hello all!

I've been looking recently into medium format hardware, as I've been shooting 35mm consistently for the past 8 years or so, and I'm looking for some opinions on equipment.

Right now I'm debating between the Bronica ETR-Si and the Bronica SQ-A. From the information I've gotten, shooting the SQ-A with 6x6 will yield better quality than the ETR-Si with 6x4.5... is this incorrect? I am looking for a substantial image quality improvement with the switch to medium format, and I've been told that that can be accomplished, but that 6x6 is better.

The ETR-Si seems a bit more affordable, and equipment seems to be more plentiful, as I haven't found much in the way of add-on equipment for the SQ-A (finders, grips, lenses, backs, etc.). Anyone having any opinion on this, please do chime in.

Cheers!
    "Orwell was right, we're all gonna be targets." ~Greg Sage
    My Photography :D

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Do you often print square now? Or will you be cropping? 6x6 is only bigger if you don't crop. Now if you want a square print then a 6x45 will force you to crop a 4.5x4.5 section of the negative. If you don't print square now you'll find 645 closer in shape to the 35mm you're used to. Not everybody likes square. Some love it.

I'm not sure what the price differences are right now but if you go the SQ route I'd suggest getting the latest model [AI??]. Unless the deal is impossible to pass up no point going with the older bodies. Even if you don't need the added features the newer body will be newer-)

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Images
    First, welcome to APUG. This is a really terrific place for film users.