Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,197   Posts: 1,531,424   Online: 795

Shooter
    Multi Format

Hasselblad WLF diopters

Can anyone tell me the power of the standard dioptre in a Hasselblad WLF?

Also, is the nomenclature for the replacement dioptres for the absolute power, or for the power relative to the standard? I.E. does a "+1" in a Hasselblad catalogue have a focal length of 1 m, or is it one power stronger than the standard dioptre?

Old eyes grateful for any clues.

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Images
    Hi Struan,

I think all the 500 and the 201 F series are equiped with a -0.5 magnifier, the 205 FCC and 203 FE have a hood type E/diopter -1 as standard.

I don`t like to focus with the WLF myself, so I got a 45 degrees prism and a chimney finder, IMO it`s more confortable to the eyes.

For the WLF you can get diopters from -4 to +3 and for the PM45 prism from -4.5 to +3.5. The HM2 magnifying hood accept any correction lenses prescribed by your optician, due to a correction lenses mount supplied with the viewfinder, a very interesting option to consider.

A brighter Acute-Matte screen will also help you (in case you`re using the old style).

Cheers

André

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Thanks André. That's very useful information.

I have a WLF on a 2003FCW and do already have an acutematte screen. I'm finding it a tiny bit uncomfortable to focus on the screen - that is, to focus my eye at the place the screen appears to be. I know from LF, and from brushing my kids' teeth, that my close focus is getting longer, so I am interested in trying a stronger dioptre to see if that helps.

I have found a couple of places with secondhand dioptres, but none of them are near to me and I don't want to have to order up a whole bunch just to get the one that works.

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Images