Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,683   Posts: 1,548,533   Online: 916

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Shooter
    35mm
    Images

Hassey 80mm CF Lens query

I'm new to MF.

I just purchased a late model 80mm CF T* lens from KEH to replace an earlier version that came with my "kit" and has some cleaning marks that can create flare when shooting at an angle to the light source.

The new lens is in "like-new" condition. I'd like to put a UV-type filter on it. Unlike my 35mm Nikkors, this lens does not seem to use a threaded filter.

Does anyone know what type of filter do I need?

Oh, BTW, I know a lot of folks hate UV filters etc. I don't care about that issue. I prefer to protect my glass with such a filter as a prophylactic.

Thanks for your help.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Hassy uses proprietary bayonet mounts for filters. Yours is most likely a B60 mount. Guess what - everything for these mounts will cost you at least twice as any regular threaded filter. The good news is that you can buy adapters from lets say B60 to 67mm etc (that's what I did to being able to use normal filters).
    [SIZE=1]Tiptoeing through life's grand theater - and falling down flat.[/SIZE]

JLP
    Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    With a little patience it is possible to find a good B60 UV filter on the auction site. I have one on 3 Zeiss lenses and they all came used. They are a little more expensive than threaded filters but so is the glass behind it.
    Good buy George, it is a great lens.

jan

Brentwood, Contra Costa County, California, USA
    Shooter
    Multi Format
    I use the Bay60-->67mm adapter ring. I use that same stack of 67mm filters on my 58mm diameter lenses, so it saves a lot of money.

Usually I don't use a protective filter on any of my lenses, unless it's rainy or windy.

Shooter
    Large Format