Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 69,713   Posts: 1,514,723   Online: 843

Shooter
    Medium Format

Brooks Veriwide XL Back Options?

I have and occasionally use a Brooks Veriwide, the more modern kind with removeable back.
    It stays home a lot because the enormous back forces me to use a large Pelican case, and that means little else will fit in my backpack...
    The camera is based, as I understand, on the Graflex XL and should use the same backs. I have no experience with Graflex, so-
    I'm wondering what options are out there for a more compact 6x9 back. I'd even consider using sheet film in the interests of bulk control, since I seldom shoot more than a handful of frames.
    So what is out there and exactly which pieces would I have to buy? Do I need a back adapter of some kind?

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    I have 2 6x9 backs but use mostly the polaroid back as long as my 665 stock last. I have the graflock type viewing back for 6x9 sheet but never used it. You need that and film holders. Pm me if interested but I don't have any holder.
    On the other hand a graflex 6x7 rollfilm back make it a really compact (relatively speaking...) camera.
    Best,
    Guillaume

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Guillaume-
    Does the viewing back mate with the 4 pin mount on the back of the body? Or would I also need an adapter of some kind?
    I guess the viewing back allows sheet film holders to be slipped under its G.G. to expose?
    And would the setup be significantly smaller than with the factory back?
    Sorry about the dumbish questions, but I have no sheet film experience at all, no L.F. experience, and have never looked at a Graflex XL in the flesh.