Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 68,712   Posts: 1,482,986   Online: 816

Shooter
    Medium Format

Kowa 6 shutter release problem

I was recently given a Kowa 6 which has pushed me into the world of medium format. It does appear to have one small problem in that quite often the shutter will not release even though the lock is in the correct position.

Does anyone else use one of these cameras? Has anyone else experienced this problem? As I am a bit of a novice to medium format am I doing something wrong? Can anyone suggest a fix that does not include a large hammer?

Regards
    N

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Images
    I used these for years (until I got a Mamiya RB last year).

If you're lucky, there is something not lined up. The shutter has to be set properly on the lens before it's mounted on the body. One picture being worth 1000 words, a look at the manual is in order. Hope this helps.

http://www.butkus.org/chinon/kowa/kowa_66/kowa_66.htm
    David
    Taking pictures is easy. Making photographs is hard.

http://www.behance.net/silverdarkroom

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Dave, thanks for the advice. I have been through the manual and I seem to be doing as it says. It does seem to work okay without the film loaded which worries me as that may suggest that the winding mechanism is not functioning as it should.
    I was given the camera in october and so far have only put six rolls through it so it may improve with use.
    The action of the shutter release locking ring feels a little vague so you really have to look to make sure the dots are lined up. This may suggest that all is not well with the locking ring.
    Regards
    N

Shooter
    35mm
    Images