Switch to English Language Passer en langue franšaise Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,270   Posts: 1,534,449   Online: 998

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Shooter
    4x5 Format
    Images

hasselblad distagon 50 4.0 question

Hi,

im quite new to hasselblad and searching for a 50mm lens for my new 500cm.

Is there a big difference in quality between the black *T lens and the newer CF *T lens? The black lens is around $400 and the cf lens around $700.

Shooter
    Sub 35mm
    I believe the only difference is the CF are newer style lenses and the bay mount is bigger, 60 versus 50, which when buying filter just buy a bay mount adapter ring and your set.. I used to own the T* ( chrome ones ) and now the CF because I wanted to have all the same bay mount.

Kev

Shooter
    8x10 Format
    Optically no. I'm sure the specs on the lens will contradict me on that, but any difference on paper will not show up on film.
    When I grow up, I want to be a photographer.

http://www.walterpcalahan.com/Photography/index.html

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Quote Originally Posted by Pinholemaster View Post
    Optically no. I'm sure the specs on the lens will contradict me on that, but any difference on paper will not show up on film.
    No, there is an optical difference. The C lenses have a single layer of optical coating and the CF lenses have the T* multiple layers of coating. The contrast is better on the CF and the flare rejection on the CF lenses is better. While a lens hood will help cut down the flare on the C lenses there will still be more flare. Put the lens hood on the CF lenses and the flare reduction is even better.