Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 68,677   Posts: 1,482,057   Online: 780

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Images

Rolleiflex and "modern" tripods

SORRY! Hit the enter key on accident.

Title should read: Rolleiflex and "modern" tripods

I'll be receiving my (new to me) Rolleiflex 3.5E shortly. I do have a 3/16" quick release adaptor plate for my Manfrotto ball head. I was wondering if there would be any issues with using this quick release plate.

Is a RolleiFIX necessary?

(Haha, I caught myself asking if the tripod mount would be able to hold the Rolleiflex in "portrait" orientation, but I remembered that the Rolleiflex is a 6x6 camera... Duh! Sorry guys, I'm new to the MF world (and the film world!)).
    Last edited by jasonjoo; 12-09-2007 at 06:18 PM. Click to view previous post history.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Rolleifix is not necessary but is very useful, but redundant with your quick-release head. For convenience you might consider getting an extra plate and mount it to the camera once-and-for-all. Once you start using a quick-release of any type you'll not stop. I use Rolleifix and "Hasselblad-fix" every time I shoot with those cameras.

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Images
    Thanks Brian. I should pick up a few more quick release plates. I have 2 other cameras that could use one.

Shooter
    Large Format
    Images
    Thread title updated.
    flickr--http://www.flickr.com/photos/davidagoldfarb/
    Photography (not as up to date as the flickr site)--http://www.davidagoldfarb.com/photo
    Academic (Slavic and Comparative Literature)--http://www.davidagoldfarb.com

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Images
    Thanks David, I appreciate it.

BTW, what's the benefits of the Rolleifix? I heard sometimes you can damage the bottom or back (can't remember) of the Rolleiflex with a normal tripod mount.

Shooter