Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 69,745   Posts: 1,515,627   Online: 874

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Shooter
    35mm

Recommend a camera to a noob

Hey all. I am new to photography, I primarily use 35mm, but would like to switch to medium format. I have a couple of older TLR's (brownie six-20 and kodak duaflex II) that I use, I'm not a huge fan of the waist level viewfinders. Can anyone suggest a MF SLR available for under $400, preferably including a lens or two? Also, is there any way I can get olympus OM lenses to work on a mf slr?

Here is what I want:
    120 film
    SLR
    eye level metered viewfinder
    6x7 or larger
    $400

Am I dreaming, or is something like this actually possible to get, at that price?
    Last edited by indierthanthou; 05-29-2008 at 07:02 PM. Click to view previous post history.

Shooter
    35mm
    http://cgi.ebay.com/PENTAX-6X7-MEDIU...hippingPayment

Maybe this, it is a bit above my budget, but I guess I can live on bologna sandwiches for a couple of months.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    The Pentax 6x7 is an excellent camera with very good optics. What you may settle on will depend on what kind of photography you plan on doing. Mamiya RB67s are going for about $400 with WL finder, back & lens. The Bronica SQAs are going for good prices also.
    Check out KEH.com for pricing.

Good luck with your search.

gene
    gene LaFord

Long live Ed "Big Daddy" Roth!!
    ---------------------------------------------------------------------
    "I don't care about Milwaukee or Chicago." - Yvon LeBlanc

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Your OM lenses won't work - they don't have enough coverage for the larger negatives.

For 6x7, KEH has a number of Bargain Grade Bronica GS1 outfits that meet your criteria, and are at least close to your price range.