Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,481   Posts: 1,542,703   Online: 847

Page 1 of 6 123456 LastLast

Shooter
    35mm

Pentax 645 Advice

Hi all.

Today my Pentax 645 arrived in the mail! It is the original version. I have searched for over two years and am elated to finally have it!!! It comes with 75, 45, and 150mm lenses. I am new to automatic cameras because until now, I shoot the all manual Pentax K1000 35mm. For those of you you have and are currently using this camera, I have a few questions:

1.) Of the three lenses, which is best for portraits?

2.) Will there be a huge learning curve moving from my Pentax K1000?

3.) Which mode is best used for the camera; manual, aperture priority, or
    shutter priority?

4.) What are your experiences with the Pentax 645?

Thank you much,
    Jamusu.
    Last edited by jamusu; 07-18-2008 at 11:02 PM. Click to view previous post history.

Shooter
    Medium Format
    I use the Pentax 645 II. I'd wanted the 645 ever since it came out in the 80's and when I got a bit of a windfall I purchased one with the 45-85 mm lens and 150 mm lens. Its a great camera and the handling to my mind is really no different to a 35mm slr. The 150 will be your best bet for portraits, although it doesn't focus close enough for real tightly composed head shots. As to which mode to use, choose one you're comfortable with, I use manual and AE priority most of the time, never used program or shutter priority.

All in all I really love it, unfortunately I don't use as much as I once did as work requires me to be digital, but when I want to do my own personal work its the camera I like to use with either Velvia or Delta 400. I've use Hasselblads, bronicas and Mamiya's and the Pentax is the only one that suits my style of shooting. I know that's a very subjective statement.

Shooter
    Holga
    Jamusu,