Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 68,701   Posts: 1,482,636   Online: 770

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images

how often do you CLA your Hasselblad gear?

I've been shooting Hasselblad for a couple of years now and haven't noticed any degeneration in the lenses, but the odd time my backs will double expose or overlap a couple of frames (it's getting more frequent). My question on preventative maintenance is: is there a rule of thumb on how often a lens should be CLA'd?
    maybe a second question is: does my film backs need to be overhauled or is it a problem with my camera body (with the overlapping film)?

I know that there are a lot of different variables to this (storing with the shutter uncocked, frequency of usage, etc. but maybe someone could elaborate their variables and how often they keep them maintained. Personally I use my gear weekly (3 a12 backs, 40mm, 50mm, 80mm and 150mm for lenses along with a 500cm body) and haven't done anything for 2 years (and the previous owner for 2 years before that), but have no issues besides the film advancing. Is this normal or should I be sending them in soon?

Anyone care to comment or answer the above questions?

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Images
    I've only ever done my backs every 18 months.

Nothing else has ever needed service.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images