Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,295   Posts: 1,535,640   Online: 1108

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Yashica D

Shooter
    35mm

Yashica D

I just received a Yahica D I got from Ebay. I have about $50.00 bucks in it
    with shipping. Just cleaned the mirror(gently) and ground glass. It seems to
    function OK. Shutter speeds seems close. I am not too experienced with leaf
    type shutters.
    I was wondering if anyone out there has any experience with these cameras.
    I have always primarily used manual Nikons. I am use to using a light meter.
    So that will not be a great inconvenience for using it with this camera. I have never owned a Medium format and I thought this would be a good economical start. Any thoughts or suggestions would be appreciated.
    Lee

Shooter
    4x5 Format
    Images
    My first TLR is a Yashica D I bought on ebay around a year ago for around $65. I like the square format but I find the mirror inversion on the TLR to be annoying/confusing - I just couldn't get comfortable with it so I started using a Century Graphic. I found the yashica D to be easy to use - make sure the light seals are okay and then just load it up with film and go out there and have fun.

Do you have the manual? Here's a link to a PDF:

http://www.cameramanuals.org/yashica_pdf/yashica_d.pdf

Dan

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    I had one for about three years, and sold it to partly finance my move to a Mamiya C330. It's a great little camera, and the triplet lens will give you results worth printing. It's very light for a TLR, and once you decide on your film advance/shutter cocking sequence, you can work very fast.

The one thing you have to remember is to depress the center portion of the film advance button to unlock it. Otherwise you will wonder why you can't advance the film after the first frame...