Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 71,477   Posts: 1,570,999   Online: 897

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Shooter
    Medium Format

Which version Hasselblad Planar to buy?

Hey guys. I recently got a 500C/M, and with it I bought a 150mm Sonnar. The lens is temporary, because the one I really plan on using is the 80mm Planar. But I'm curious: which version should I buy? I want to pay less than $400 if I can, but I don't want one that's really outdated or something. I'm new to Hasselblad so any help is appreciated.

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Images
    Buy a CF or CB.

I believe parts for the older C lenses are no longer available.

Shooter
    Medium Format
    I'll start and let othewr experts chime in. I've had several and will give you the pros/cons from my perspective.

C (chrome or black) Pro: small size, Bay 50 filters, cheap, superb machining,you know you're handling a nice lens. Con- early lenses were not T* coated, plan for a CLA
    CFi -Pro: latest. Con: Front filter ring is not metal - I can't use Hasselblad or B&W brand filters without them digging in. I've switched to Hoyas.

If were to do it again, I'd go for the C black T* series. The size factor is relevant for me. YMMV.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    The CF's and CB's will tend to cost more than your 400 $ target.
    Shutter parts are no longer made for the C versions, but they can generally be CLA'd successfully.
    For a C, you probably want the T* version as a minimum. The C lenses have interlocked f/stop and shutter speed rings which is convienient if you expose by EV, and you must press a release to move them separately. On the CF's you can press a button to lock them, otherwise they operate independantly.

Both approaches have their pros and cons. I think I prefer the CF scheme though. Switching back and forth is kind of a pain though.