Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 68,674   Posts: 1,481,898   Online: 1109

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Shooter
    Medium Format

Bronica SQ-A / EC-TL

Hi guys,

Im looking for some help from MF experts such as yourselves. Im looking at a Bronica SQ-A or EC-TL on eBay. One question I have - that I cannot find anywhere is in regards to the Depth of Field.

When focussing using the WLF, does either the SQ-A or EC-TL viewfinder show depth of field? As in, does the view finder show the background blurry, when focussed on something close? example:

I read that there is a depth of field preview button on the lens of the SQ-A? Does ths mean by default you cannot see depth of field through the view finder, with these two models?

Apologies if this is a basic / nub question. Im new to MF equipment!

Shooter
    Multi Format
    I've not used the Bronica but if it has a depth of field preview button then its focusing with the aperture wide open. In that case what you see is minimal depth of field but with a bright viewfinder which helps focusing and composition. If you then want to see the actual depth of field you first set the aperture your going to use, then press the depth of field button. At that point the lens will stop down to the selected aperture and you will see the actual depth of field in the view finder.
    This is generally considered the better system as you have both a bright viewfinder, and the ability to view depth of field when you want.
    Various Canons and Nikons. A Mamiya and a Bronica. A couple Brownies, and a Couple of Argus' (Argi?)

Shooter
    35mm RF
    The ps lenses on my sq-a all have a silver stop down butten for DOF prieview works very simply and soes not hinder shooting at all
    regarsa bazz8

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images