Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 71,872   Posts: 1,583,518   Online: 1023

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Shooter
    35mm

Mamiya 645afd only good for studio work?

I am new to medium format and i am currently researching Mamiya 645 afd.
    In your opinion, is this camera more for studio work? is it ok to use it for everyday shooting. I hope my question make sense to you.

Thank You.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    I think many people by the 6x4.5 cameras for portability. So none of them are "studio-only" cameras. Heck, I even haul my Bronica GS-1 into the great outdoors and it's a 6x7.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    My F4 is just as big and weighs as much as my Mamiya. I take them both in the field without any problems.

D.
    My Photography Site www.lofgreenimages.com and My Blog

Shooter
    Medium Format
    I don't think the AF is fast enough for pictures of certain types of racing, otherwise it should work for just about anything.

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Images
    Whatever you're comfortable carrying is okay for field work.

I don't have an AF Mamiya, but do have a manual focus Mamiya 645 Super and all of its shooting has been out and about.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Blog Entries
    Images
    I had a 645afd and a 645 pro, and I use them both in many different ways, they are very versatile. I'd definitely not call the afd a studio-only camera, it has many features that are very nice for the field. There are many super-fast lenses and high shutter speeds, and also a few leaf-shutter lenses.

The rb/rz are better suited for studio work IMHO than the 645s. 645 was probably invented for covering events e.g. weddings and such, that'd be my guess. But you can use all of these cameras any way you see fit!