Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 73,615   Posts: 1,622,755   Online: 789

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Yashica D?

Shooter
    Multi Format

Yashica D?

Hello everyone, I have just purchased a Yashica D and was wondering if anyone can tell me what to expect? I have never used a TLR camera before and was hoping to hear from the seasoned TLR shooter's on this topic. Maybe get some tips n' tricks. Also is this camera a good choice for street photography

Thanks, Meg

Shooter
    Pinhole
    Images
    Welcome to APUG! The Yashica is a fun camera. Just remember, in the great North, its a metal camera, and it gets cold as hell!

Anne

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Hahaha yes it gets very cold good tip! I have also invested in a not so attractive pair of mens hunting mittens the kind that flips so you can use your finger tips.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Blog Entries
    Images
    I love mine, beautiful negs & slides always. I've done portraiture, still life, landscape, but little street photography -- preferring to use it with a tripod, but that's just me. But because of the waist-level finder and the quiet shutter, it is great for candid photography.

Tips: You can hold it overhead to get over crowds & still compose. Wind on right after you trip the shutter so you don't forget. There are some wonderfully planned multiple exposure possibilities with laundry marker indexes on the ground glass. Save your spools & backing paper. If shooting without a tripod, fit a strap & hold taut with foot to reduce camera shake. Use the 'sport' frame when tracking moving objects. Be aware of parallax correction when shooting near objects. Be aware of exposure compensation when racked out. Make nice contact sheets and marvel at their beauty!
    Considerably AWOL at the present time...

Archive/Blog: http://davidwilliamwhite.blogspot.com

JPD
    Shooter