Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,950   Posts: 1,557,890   Online: 942

Thread: Ricoh Auto 66

Shooter
    Multi Format

Ricoh Auto 66

I have an opportunity to purchase a Ricoh auto 66. I haven't seen this camera but am confident it is in excellent condition. I have tried to research some prices but can't find anything. He wants 200.00 for it because it was appraised at 200.oo five years ago.
    Does anyone here have any experience and/or advice on this camera? Its appreciated
    Mark

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    I have no experience with Ricoh cameras, but just because a "person of importance" set a value on something does not mean that is its true worth. The item is only worth what the market will bear. Does everything function as it was intended? will it continue to do so for however long you want it as a user? I may be wrong, but doesn't that model rely on the meter functioning properly for the camera to work? Can the auto function be overridden? IMO, the price is a tad bit high. Maybe get a try out clause from the seller that allows for a full refund up to so many days(long enough to run a roll through it) if it doesn't function properly.
    Rick A
    Argentum aevum

Shooter
    Multi Format
    That's what I'm thinking too. My question is can I get my money back out of it? He's had it for sale for a long time. Those are also good questions on the meter part. I'll have to look into that some more. Thanks Rick.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    A few years ago isn't today and the market is no where near the same. $200 for a Ricoh 6X6 is way to much IMO.
    $300 will buy a 645 or even some 6X7 cameras with a little shopping around. Tell you friend that two years ago a Hassleblad was $600+ & now you can find them for less than $400.
    See if he'll take $100, if not, shop around.
    Heavily sedated for your protection.