Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 71,957   Posts: 1,586,083   Online: 972

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Shooter
    Multi Format

Looking at a Hasselblad 50/4 CT*...

Hello,

I need a wide angle for my 501CM. My plan is to eventually get a 40 but I do need a wide soon (as in end of June) and since I do not have the money for a 40 now, I'm looking at various cheap 50/4 CT* lenses.

Is there something I need to watch out for? I mean the lens will work and has a 6 month warranty so I'm not worried about that. But are the optics good or is there any issue with certain versions of them...?

Sorry, I'm new to the the whole C/CT/CF/CB area so I don't know much! For the record, I have a 501CM with 80CB which I find very nice indeed.

Bear in mind that the 50 will generally be used stopped down to f/8-16 as where I'm going it will be nice and sunny! So if the older CT* is not that good wide open, no harm done. How about flare issues? Do I need to look for a certain designation on the lens or lettering?

Thanks.

Shooter
    Medium Format
    The 50 mm is good.
    But do use a proper hood.

The old 50 mm design was carried over into the CF range. During the CF period it was replaced by a new design with floating elements.
    That new design is a bit better. But the difference is small, and one between a very good lens, and a lens that is a little bit better still.
    I use the old version as well, without a single worry.

You can recognise C lenses by the knurled setting rings, and the name of the shutter ("Synchro Compur") on the lens.
    They were first available in a brushed aluminium finish (usually called "chrome"), later in black.
    The early ones have a "T" single layer antireflection coating. Later ones (in all versions) have a "T*" multi layer coating (recognizable by T*, printed in red on the barrel).