Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 69,986   Posts: 1,524,022   Online: 920

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Shooter
    35mm
    Images

Mamiya C33 Seikosha-S 80mm shutter inop

My first post to this site and my first medium format camera. I picked this up dirt cheap at a Thrift store. All functions well and is in relatively good shape. However the shutter won't fire. It cocks and clicks but the blades don't move. Aperture seems to move smoothly. Are there any good tutorials online on how to disassemble and repair this? Are there known issues with this lens? Is it a common failure? I have repaired my own 35mm equipment before so I have some experience and mechanical knowledge. I really want to get this up and working. Thanks!

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    You should be able to find an inexpensive replacement lens on line. Try KEH or watch the auction sites, they are interchangable with different focal lengths, so take your pick.
    Rick A
    Argentum aevum
    BTW: the big kid in my avatar is my hero, my son, who proudly serves us in the Navy. "SALUTE"

Shooter
    35mm
    Images
    Quote Originally Posted by ralnphot View Post
    You should be able to find an inexpensive replacement lens on line. Try KEH or watch the auction sites, they are interchangable with different focal lengths, so take your pick.
    Been checking out eBay but I'd like to fix it if possible.

Shooter
    Large Format
    Blog Entries
    If you are not a watchmaker, or have never opened a shutter to repair it, stay away. These things are full of tiny springs, gears, and other very delicate parts. Even with a complete repair diagram they arenot for the inexperienced. Either send it to a repairman or start looking for a replacement.
    [FONT=Comic Sans MS]Films NOT Dead - Just getting fixed![/FONT]

Shooter
    Multi Format

Shutter