Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,549   Posts: 1,544,611   Online: 715

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Shooter
    Multi Format

GAS attack: I bought a Mamiya 7ii ... now having second thoughts!

I'm not really sure why I'm posting this thread, but I guess it's more a cry for re-assurance that I'm not a total idiot.

My background: avid amateur / enthusiast, I have been shooting dSLR's for several years, but recently got back into film. I have been slowly amassing a tidy collection of wonderful film cameras (35mm and medium format).

On an online forum (not APUG) this past weekend, I innocently scanned the classifieds and came across a Mamiya 7ii & 80mm lens for a very reasonable price. Instantly couldn't help myself, and thoughts raced through my mind: the Legendary Mamiya lens quality! The massive 6x7 negatives! Oh the possibilities!

GAS attack clouded my better judgment, and a few minutes later I had PayPal'ed a small fortune to a total stranger for a camera I had never seen.

Someone please re-assure me! This wasn't a bad move, was it?

Shooter
    35mm
    the 7ii is freaking sweet and a worthy GAS purchase.
    If you don't want it, i'll trade you for it and use the crap out of it.
    Toledo Camera Trader and photojournalist

Shooter
    Multi Format
    You have just bought into one of the finest medium format systems available. The lenses are among the best. Really empress yourself by shooting some chromes and then view them on a light table. You will be wowed.

Best regards,

Bob
    Best regards,

Bob
    CEO-CFO-EIEIO, Ret.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Thanks, TheSognly ... that's the kind of hand-holding I'm looking for. In all truth, I'm really looking forward to trying this beast out.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Good advice, rpsawin -- I have some Velvia in the fridge that's whispering to me at the moment...

Shooter