Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 69,741   Posts: 1,515,562   Online: 969

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images

6x9 Folders - Complete Novice

Hello,

I am currently debating the possibility of getting a 6x9 folder. I really like the benefits of larger negative size that I get with MF but I could really use a trip back to the golden ratio. My other motivation is that I need a very portable MF camera for some of the abandoned building photography I do. My specifications would be something like this:

6x9 format
    Sharp from edge to edge
    Faster lens
    WA-normal lens
    Fully mechanical, no reliance on batteries etc.
    Not going to break the bank

Then how would I go about focusing a folder?

Thanks,
    Joe

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Try 2x3 Graflex with a 120 roll back. I use one and I get some great negatives off it, although I use it as a field camera with a ground glass. I did just calibrate the rangefinder and I can shoot handheld now.

-Josh
    Cameras:
    Canon EOS Elan II/E, Elan 7, and 630. -- Bronica ETRS -- Pentax 6x7
    My Website

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Images
    I can't make specific model recommendations for a 6x9 folder (a hunt I've occasionally dabbled in, but not yet to my satisfaction) but I can make a couple technical comments.

If the camera doesn't have a coupled rangefinder, then it'll be scale focus. That's where you set the focus by distance. If you're not confident in your eye measurement, there's accessory RFs you can buy and stick on the flash shoe. Use it to find the distance, then set focus distance on your lens. Not recommend combination for sports.

Fully mechanical is actually the more common state of affairs for the time period that folders were made in great quantity.