Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 71,813   Posts: 1,581,590   Online: 859

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Shooter
    Medium Format

Hasselblad Extension Tubes

Hi all. I'm curious to know which Hasselblad extension tubes have what focus range. I'm interested in doing semi-closeup portraits, from about 1.5-2 feet away with the 80mm, so that the face and a small amount of the shoulders will take up the frame. If anyone has an easy to read table that will give me approximate focusing range and exposure compensation for each of the tubes, that would be spectacular. Also, what's the difference between the regular and "E" type tubes? I appreciate the help, I'm new to the Swede. Thanks!

E76
    Shooter
    Instant Films
    Images
    You might find Hasselblad's Close Up Photography article useful. It provides several tables listing field width and exposure compensation values. When I did head and shoulder portraits in a style similar to the one you describe, I used a 10mm extension tube with an 80mm lens, which I found to be ideal.

Type E tubes are for use with FE series bodies and lenses which have electrical contacts on the lens and lens mount for communication.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Always remember:

1) Have the camera cocked.
    2) Remove the lens
    3) Mount the extension tube on the camera.
    4) Mount the lens on the camera.
    5) Take the photograph.
    6) Cock the lens.
    7) Remove the lens.
    8) Remove the extension tube.
    9) Replace the lens.

I have tired the various tables and charts. What I do is guess at a tube length and try it. If that one is not right, I try the next tube. I usually find one tube or a combination of tubes that work.

Steve
    Warning!! Handling a Hasselblad can be harmful to your financial well being!

Nothing beats a great piece of glass!