Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,561   Posts: 1,545,289   Online: 765

Shooter
    35mm

Bronica GS-1 lens/shutter help

Hello.

I am new to medium format and recently purchased a used Bronica GS-1 with a 110 mm Macro lens. It came with a waist-level view finder.

I seem to be having a problem with the shutter and was wondering if anyone might be able to tell me what is going on.

With film loaded and the camera turned on, I hit the shutter button. Two things happen:

1. the shutter leaflets close and remain closed. (I can see them looking down thru the lens.)

2. the view finder goes gray and remains that way.

To release the leaflets I have to turn the film advance arm to the next frame. Then everything resets itself.

This occurs no matter what shutter speed I select.

Any thoughts on what the problem might be and what I can do about it (and about how expensive)?

Thank you so much. I'm very excited to get going in the world of medium format, all the more so since we are headed to Zion National Park in Utah in 7 weeks.

I appreciate any and all input.

Thank you.

David

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Assuming it behaves like its smaller brother, the SQ series, what you describe sounds normal, as long as the shutter actually makes an exposure. Unlike a typical 35mm SLR, the reflex mirror does not auto-return. (Assuming it's working) when you press the shutter button, the shutter closes, the mirror flips up and the internal film shutter opens. Then the shutter opens, and controlled by electronics in the body, remains open until the set time, then closes. As you describe, the system is mechanically reset by winding the film to the next frame.