Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,930   Posts: 1,556,849   Online: 954

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Images

Rollei SCA 356 Flash Adapter

I just received a Rollei SCA 356 and it looks brand new from eBay. I connected the adapter to my Rollei 6008i and tightened down the threaded ring snugly against the Hot shoe. (Looking to get a flash for the camera soon)

The question I have is that the adapter moves around and it not solidly attached to the camera body. Is that normal? The connector move freely in and out to the main adapter housing by about 1/8 inch. Is the adapter defective?

I am new to photography and even more so with Flash gear so I appreciate any help or comments you give.

Michael

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Where are you? I have a bunch of sundry new Metz cords I think are suited to CT45 series flash that I bought at auction, and I am pretty sure at least two of them are suited to Rollei. I don't run a 45, and they are not comptible with my old 60CT1/CT2's. I am pretty sure that SCA356 was for 45's
    my real name, imagine that.

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Images
    Thanks Mike for the response. I am in Los Angeles so we are not quite neighbors.

I posed this same question on another website and a response I received did not recommend using the SCA 356 at all because the TTL flash measurement did not work very well on the Rollei 6008i. The suggestion was to get a auto flash instead. I would like to get your thoughts on this if possible.

I was looking at getting the Metz 54 MZ-3. It has been replaced by the current model the 54 MZ-4i but it appears to be more targeted to the digital market so I don't want to buy it for features I may never use.

Do you have any recommendations for a good flash unit that works well with the 6008i?

Thanks again,

Michael

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images