Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 73,652   Posts: 1,623,593   Online: 808

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Shooter
    Medium Format

Hasselblad 500 cm and cold weather

Hi.
    I'm new with a Hasselblad equipment (just today i've got my first Hassy) and i have a couple of questions. for the first: how does it feels himself at low temperatures? I'm going to travel to the North of Russia for a week and i'd like to make some pictures with my new camera. Hope it will not be too cold, but i'm preparing for temperatures up to -20 C

Shooter
    Medium Format
    it went all the way up to the moon, remember?

mm

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Quote Originally Posted by maarten m View Post
    it went all the way up to the moon, remember?

mm
    Sorry. I didn't understood your answer

K-G
    Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    If the camera is not to old and in good condition, temperatures down to - 10 C ( 14 F ) should not cause any problem according to my own experience. Older equipment where grease and dirt has started to acumulate may cause problems. If you want to test your own camera, put it in the freezer over night and when you take it out, directly test all the shutterspeeds before it is warming up. Especially the longer speeds ( 1/15 th of a second and longer ) are sensitive. If the shutter sounds normal then it is probably OK. Just beware that when you have taken the camera out of the freezer condense will start to form on it. After testing, let it rest an hour or two and it will be OK. A good rule of thumb is that the camera can stand much colder weather than your fingers. I have used my own Hasselblads for winter photography for more than thirty years and if you treat them well they will serve you well.
    Good luck !

Karl-Gustaf

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Hallo,

Depending upon which model you have, will be the answer!