Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,919   Posts: 1,556,487   Online: 1267

Shooter
    35mm

New Yashica MAT TLR - Issues with 120 film

I am fairly new to TLRs, but today I managed to get my hands on a Yashica MAT TLR and a Tokiwa FirstFlex TLR.

I'm fairly familiar with shooting 120 (mostly Ilford b&w and Fuji color) with my Holga. The FirstFlex is extremely similar in that it has a film window, so I can wind until I see the frame numbers on the film backing, just like on a Holga.

The issue with the Yashica MAT, is that there is a film counter (just like on a film SLR) however it's a locking mechanism. This is an issue since there is no way for me to see the frame number on the film backing, and a bigger issue in that the film counter starts after only a few winds. I know on my Holga it takes half a dozen winds to get past the backing paper and get to the first frame, so I don't know how to load the film properly in this TLR.

Is anyone familiar with the Yashica MAT at all? Just for clarification this is not a MAT124 or a MAT124G, just a plain MAT.

Am I supposed to unwind the film and remove the backing, and trim it to feed into the 120 roll?

Any help or suggestions is greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    I can't offer any advice on the Yashica MAT specifically, but I do have a few different TLRs, including a Yashica D.
    Yes, it does seem like the film winds forever on the Holga before you get to the frame counting numbers, but keep in mind that with a TLR, the winding knob or lever gives you a little bit more leverage, so fewer turns are required. Just load the film and wind it with the back open until the word START appears, then close the back and keep winding until your film counter starts.