Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 71,472   Posts: 1,570,955   Online: 710

Page 1 of 6 123456 LastLast

Shooter
    35mm

Mamiya RB67 Vs Mamiya 645 Pro TL

Excuse me for being a complete medium format novice here and asking what is no doubt a straight forward base knowledge question, but I am looking to get a medium format camera and have settled on the RB67 or 645 series Mamiyas.

But I can't seem to find a comparison of the two anywhere to make things clearer for me.

Whilst I'm new to medium format im definitely no novice to photography in general so I would like this camera to be an upgrade from 35mm rather than just an entry level MF.

I've been offered a 645 TL For £250, is that a good deal or should I hold out and try to go for a RB67 range, or better value 645 range??

Please help!

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Images
    They both have their strengths and weaknesses.

The RB67 has almost twice the negative area of the 645 but it is also bigger and heavier. I like hand holding mine but others would only consider using it on a tripod.

The 645 is lighter and easier to carry but has a smaller negative area. It gets 15 (or is it 16) shots to a roll of 120 compared to only ten with the RB67.

They will probably both cost about the same and either would be a step up from quality compared to 35mm so really it's down to their individual features and your personal preferences to mke the decision.

have a look at this thread for some related discussion: http://www.apug.org/forums/forum51/8...t-vs-35mm.html

Steve.
    "People who say things won't work are a dime a dozen. People who figure out how to make things work are worth a fortune" - Dave Rat.

Shooter
    35mm
    That's excellent, it's information I hadn't even thought that I'd need. I've been spoilt by having a standard 24/36 exposure to a film with 35mm.