Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 71,821   Posts: 1,581,669   Online: 899

Shooter
    Multi Format

Yashica LM vs Mamiya RB

Hello all.........I'm new here on APUG, and I'm new to MF photography. I have a Yashica LM and have used it a couple of times. My problem with it is composing and focusing with the waist level finder. It's dim and not easy (for me) to keep the camera oriented with what I want to photograph. I am planning to buy a Mamiya RB67 and would like to know whether or not I could expect that waist level finder to be any brighter than the Yashica. Also, would a RB with a prism finder help with either of these issues? The maximum aperture on both lenses would be about the same, but the RB looks to be a bigger lens. (yashica 80 3.2 : RB 127 3.8) I would much appreciate any advice you might share with me. Thanks

Shooter
    Multi Format
    I don't know about the Yashica LM but the I have the RB67 with the prism finder which does pretty good by me.

Jeff

Shooter
    Medium Format
    There's an excellent chance that the mirror and screen and lens on your 50 year-old Yashica needs replacement or cleaning. Installing a new mirror easy and you can get one here- http://www.uscamera.com/yashicatlr1005.htm Four screws hold down the focus hood. Over a towel or such to catch any screws that drop, remove them. Pull the hood up. The bottom of the focus screen is plastic, so use a plastic cleaner. The top surface is glass. Be careful about getting liquid running into the edges and between the two sheets. While the hood is off, clean the back of the viewing lens. It will have decades of evaporated grease crud on it.

With all that said, the RB screen is going to be easier to use. Yashica has a very good quality viewing screen, but the Mamiya is a step up.

Shooter
    Multi Format