Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,527   Posts: 1,543,950   Online: 1076

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Shooter
    35mm

Refurbishing my Minolta XG-M

Hi all, I'm new to this forum, and I was hoping I could get some help refurbishing a Minolta XG-M camera given to me. First of all, is this a good quality camera to start with? I don't mind buying a better model from ebay if there are significantly better ones. I have 3 lenses for this camera, so I get something else it would need to be compatible with them. Auto focus is not essential for me.

I've never used a film SLR before, and I just want to make sure it's going to work well once I start shooting with it. I can't test it right now because I have to buy batteries for it. Also the foam seals around the door are old and falling apart, so I think I need to change that. Are there any other common repairs needed to get an old camera in working order?

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Welcome to the Wonderful World of Film.
    I don't know the minoltas but in general you have the right idea for replacing light seals on the back.
    If the back seals have deteriorated it would be prudent to also check the mirror bumper foam.
    This can sometimes get sticky with age and can cause problems with mirror return directly after exposure.

Foam replacement is a somewhat tedious job but it's not difficult. Use some naphtha and a WOODEN tool like a chopstick to remove the old foam.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Welcome to APUG!

It's a good camera, and the price is certainly right.

It uses currently available batteries - get two new ones and if it functions well with them, re-foaming kits are easy to find.

In case you don't have one, here is a link to a manual. If you are going to make use of the manual and camera, the suggested donation is a good idea.