Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,550   Posts: 1,544,817   Online: 1018
      
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Florida, USA
    Shooter
    35mm
    Posts
    8

    Canon F1 advance lever stuck.

    I was just given a canon f1 without a lens from an uncle. When I received it, I noticed that the advance lever would not move forward. I know nothing about F1's, I have an olympus om-1, and am wondering what would cause this.

  2. #2
    jmcd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    715
    Images
    41
    You probably checked for film inside at the end of the roll?

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Richmond VA.
    Shooter
    Multi Format
    Posts
    6,841
    You might send it to KEH for repairs.

    Jeff

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Florida, USA
    Shooter
    35mm
    Posts
    8
    There is no film and no battery in it. About how much does KEH usually charge?

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Montgomery, Il/USA
    Shooter
    Multi Format
    Posts
    5,097
    If this an F1N(matte black finish, not glossy) it uses a 6V battery installed in the front of the camera. If the camera is cocked and the battery is missing/dead You can't move the lever. If it's the older camera F1/F1n(battery in bottom of camera) it's all mechanical and the battery has nothing to do with advance.
    Heavily sedated for your protection.

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Florida, USA
    Shooter
    35mm
    Posts
    8
    Quote Originally Posted by John Koehrer View Post
    If this an F1N(matte black finish, not glossy) it uses a 6V battery installed in the front of the camera. If the camera is cocked and the battery is missing/dead You can't move the lever. If it's the older camera F1/F1n(battery in bottom of camera) it's all mechanical and the battery has nothing to do with advance.
    I went found the actual battery slot on the front, not sure what goes in the bottom, popped the battery out, then the camera began to work perfectly. Thanks for the help.

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Shooter
    35mm
    Posts
    80
    Your F1N is not quite working perfectly at the moment as you have no battery to power the metering. You can use shutter speeds from 1/2000 to 1/125 plus 1/90 (flash sync) and B without a charged battery being inserted in the camera. At this point you will have to estimate the exposure or use an external meter. Canon deliberately provided the facility on the F1N to use the camera in totally 'manual' mode if the battery is removed. When a flat battery is present in the camera then the camera won't function at all. Not exactly intuitive but that's the way they did it.

    So get yourself a PX28 or PX28L and go and enjoy what is probably the best, (certainly most solid) Canon FD body ever made. I enjoy using mine along with a T90 and I'm awaiting an EF as well.



 

APUG PARTNERS EQUALLY FUNDING OUR COMMUNITY:



Contact Us  |  Support Us!  |  Advertise  |  Site Terms  |  Archive  —   Search  |  Mobile Device Access  |  RSS  |  Facebook  |  Linkedin